Sports Archive

Rockets, SBC-A volleyball co-champions, are led by coach Cindy Dorsey

Cindy Dorsey, Clermont Northeastern head varsity volleyball coach, was honored recently by her friends, family, team, and co-workers. She was presented with awards and remembrances in recognition of the 100th victory of her varsity coaching career at CNE.

Batavia has county’s most successful golf season

Batavia’s Bulldogs emerged from the sectional tournament as the only varsity golf squad from Clermont County to qualify for the district tournament. The Division II District Tournament took place at Weatherwax.

Milford, New Richmond, and Batavia enjoy most successful seasons in boys soccer

Milford, New Richmond, and Batavia enjoyed the best success among Clermont County’s varsity boys soccer teams. Milford (13-4-1 overall, 5-3-1 Greater Miami Conference) was ranked among the 10 best Division I teams in Ohio for much of the season. New Richmond was champion of the Southern Buckeye Conference American Division. Batavia was the champion of the Southern Buckeye Conference National Division.

Todd Jackson featured in national publication

You would never suspect that the mild-mannered Locust Corner Elementary School teacher was a renowned bodybuilding and powerlifting champion. That is until you look at him. Todd Jackson’s prowess in these two fields of athletic endeavor were nationally honored and recognized in the November/December issue of the magazine “Jeff Everson’s Planet M.”

Bethel Sports Hall of Fame ceremonies on Dec. 16

The 2006 class of the Bethel-Tate High School Sports Hall of Fame has been selected. Seven new members have been added.

Williamsburg names first sports hall of fame class

The first class of the Williamsburg High School Sports Hall of Fame has been chosen. The first class of 18 includes all of the 13 Wildcats who are members of the Clermont County Sports Hall of Fame.

Number one seed Milford High School varsity water polo team wins state title

Milford’s varsity boys water polo team has won the Ohio state championship tournament. “This was a very senior dominated team. Most of this group were in the program all four years of high school,” said a very proud Gary Tameris, the head coach of the Eagles.

Milford girls water polo fourth in state tourney

Milford’s varsity girls water polo team achieved the status of finishing fourth in the Ohio state girls water polo tournament. The state final four showdown took place at Mason High School.

Nationally ranked St. Xavier is taken to the limit before defeating Glen Este in Division I

In a game with a deceptive final score, number-five seed Glen Este was eliminated by number-one seed St. Xavier in the Division I Regional Football Semifinals. The Trojans were defeated 17-0 at the University of Cincinnati’s Nippert Stadium.

Williamsburg makes biggest hit in volleyball tourney

Williamsburg was the final survivor of Clermont County’s high school varsity girls volleyball teams in tournament competition. The Wildcats, no stranger in making a trip to Dayton, qualified again for the Division IV District Tournament.

  • Clear
    real feel: 65°F
    humidity: 76%
    wind speed: 1 m/s SE
  • Holman GMC