Mercy Health awards scholarships to talented east side students

June 20th, 2013    Author: Administrator    Filed Under: Community

From left are Dr. Robert Lambert, Dr. Param Hariharan, Alex White, Mary Katherine Gerrard, Bradlee Prather, Brook McQuitty, Ryan Hicks, Troy Weathers, Sarah Wetzel, Alena Moore, Victoria Seitz, Dr. David Beck, Jeff Graham. (Not pictured: Christian Leigh Carwell, who is currently a foreign exchange student in the Czech Republic.)

Front row from left are Monica Sarkar (junior from Turpin High School), Alaina Hagar (Anderson High School), Ali Gradone (Turpin High School), Kara Burns (New Richmond High School); back row, Anna Crooker (McNicholas High School), Conor Fryer (St. Xavier High School), Bryan Olmstead (Amelia High School), Casey Gallagher (Anderson High School), Savannah Hisch (McNicholas High School).

Mercy Health, which provides quality care with compassion in your neighborhood through its network of care, announces that it has awarded a number of scholarships to help talented students embark on their college careers.

“The Medical Staff of Mercy Health – Anderson and Clermont hospitals strongly supports the communities surrounding the hospital,” said Jeff Graham, Mercy Health East Market Leader and President. “We extend these scholarship opportunities to the youth of our communities who will support these communities in the future.”

Now in its 14th year, Mercy Health – Anderson Hospital’s Physician Charitable Foundation distributed seven $2,000 scholarships. Recipients included Kara Burns (New Richmond), Anna Crooker (McNicholas), Conor Fryer (St. Xavier), Casey Gallagher (Anderson), Allison Gradone (Turpin), Alaina Hager (Anderson), Savannah Hisch (McNicholas) and Bryan Olmstead (Amelia).

It gave the Junior Science Award to Turpin High School’s Monica Sarkar. The award also went to the Science Department at Turpin.

The Foundation named Casey Gallagher (Anderson) the winner of the Dr. Victor VanGilse Scholarship. This is the third year that the foundation has awarded VanGilse Scholarship, which is a special award given in honor of the generosity of spirit of Victor VanGilse, MD, a surgeon who was committed to the education of aspiring physicians. His colleagues created the scholarship to assist a student with the potential to continue his legacy.

The Foundation determines winners based on the students’ personal statements, letters of recommendation and academic achievement. The committee gives special consideration to students who have volunteered at the hospital or are the children of hospital employees. Dues and contributions from former and current medical staff make up the Foundation’s scholarship fund.

The Scholarship Committee at Mercy Health – Clermont Hospital awarded five $2,000 scholarships and five $1,000 scholarships as part of its Physician’s Scholarship Awards program.

This marks the eighth year that the hospital has given scholarships to deserving students. Winners included Christian Leigh Carwell (Clermont Northeastern), Mary Katherine Gerrard (Batavia), Ryan Daniel Hicks (Goshen), Brook Nicole McQuitty (Clermont Northeastern), Alena Nichole Moore (Goshen), Bradlee Logan Prather (Felicity-Franklin), Victoria Catherine Seitz (Milford), Michael Troy Weathers (Bethel-Tate), Sarah Elizabeth Wetzel (Williamsburg) and Alexander White (Batavia).

The Scholarship Committee at Clermont Hospital reviews all the applicants and submits its recommendations to the Medical Executive Committee, which approves them. The physicians’ Medical Staff Fund, which is sustained by the physicians’ annual medical staff dues, pays for the scholarships.

Eligible students are those completing their senior year of high school at a school located in Clermont County who are preparing to graduate and attend college to pursue a career in healthcare-related fields. Considerations include academics, student activities, community involvement and volunteerism, references and financial need.

SHARE: share on facebook share on digg share on linkedin share on stumbleupon email to a friend

Leave a Reply

  • public notices