New Richmond, Amelia one-two in SBC boys cross country; Bethel, ‘Burg girls second

October 31st, 2010    Author: Richard Crawford    Filed Under: Sports

The Southern Buckeye Conference cross country championship races took place over the 3.1-mile course at New Richmond High School just uphill from the fog covered Ohio River and the valley below the course.

New Richmond easily captured the Southern Buckeye Conference American Division cross country championship.

The Lions were paced by Timmy Hall, the number-one finisher over the 3.1-mile fog-filled course at New Richmond High School.

Amelia was runner-up in the Southern Buckeye Conference American Division varsity boys cross country championship race. Team members are, left to right, row one, Andy Clolinger, Daniel Wirth, Sam Cassavant, and Oleg Burlack and row two, Jeff Cassavant, Stephen Rouse, coach Shane Heikenfeld, and Kevin Gunther.
The Lions (NR) garnered 35 points, Amelia (Ame) 96, Bethel-Tate (BT) 112, Western Brown (WB) 119, and Goshen (Gos) 200. Clermont Northeastern did not take part with a full-squad of five harriers.

Hall, a senior, completed the course in 16-minutes, 41.62-seconds.

Rounding out the top harriers, in order, with their time, were Jon Walker (WB) 17:21.08, Ben Fitzgerral (NR) 17:21.42, Alex Ariapad (NR) 17:25.48, Kevin Gunther (Ame) 17:44.47, Nathan McQueen (Gos) 17:47.30, Luke Gilday (NR) 17:54.40, Grant Gilman (NR) 18:09.63, Sumner Hobart (BT) 18:21.68, Jefferson Cassavant (Ame) 18:22.24, Ashton Hutchinson (BT) 18:24.73, Andy Clolinger (Ame) 18:26.28, Cory Kuttler (WB) 18:29.83, Mickie Doane (NR) 18:38.29, Oleg Burlack (Ame) 18:38.84, Jeremy Moss (BT) 18:46.00, Dilllon Utter (BT) 18:47.11, Jadon Henry (BT) 18:48.44, Stephen Rouse (Ame) 18:50.00, Daniel Wirth (Ame) 18:56.60, Brady Patrick (WB) 18:56.93, Logan Sutherland (WB) 19:15.34, Nick Kuttler (WB) 19:17.28, Daniel Hulsmeyer (Gos) 19:21.62, and Laner Day (WB) 19:27.82. The first harrier in for Clermont Northeastern was Nick Twine.

Southern Buckeye Conference National Division Boys

Georgetown's G-Men won the National Division crown of the Southern Buckeye Conference.

Georgetown had 101 points, Batavia (Bat) 113, Blanchester (Blan) 134, Williamsburg (Wms) 273, and East Clinton (EC) 284. Felicity (Fel) did not compete with a full five-runner squad.

The first place finisher was Nick McAfee of Georgetown with a time of 17:02.79.

The best Clermont County times were earned by Jacob Braswell (Bat), third, 17:20.14, Josh Moon (Bat), 14th, 18:17.64, Daniel Chandler (Bat), 22nd, 18:34.01, and Cory Baker (Fel), 23rd, 18:37.93. The first harrier in for Williamsburg was Theo Simpson.

Southern Buckeye Conference American Division Girls

Western Brown ran away from the field with 42 points, Bethel-Tate had 58, New Richmond 102, and Amelia 125. Clermont Northeastern and Goshen did not enter complete five-person teams.

The best finishes belonged to Shelby Gibbon (WB) 20:07.80, Andi Lanigan (BT) 20:18.17, Veronica Burnam (NR) 21:28.47, Olivia Behymer (NR) 21:30.84, DeAnna Sipple (BT) 21:51.43, Emily Siemer (WB) 22:13.09, Kelsa Gruber (WB) 22:21.56, Mikelle Moon (WB) 22:26.54, Carolin Baker (BT) 22:40.13, Morgan Calhoun (BT) 23:14.56, Kelsey Kleemeyer (WB) 23:20.84, Rachael Wilson (Ame) 23:23.34, Heather Liming (WB) 23:28.50, Paige Anderson (NR) 23:46.83, Brianna Stacy (WB) 23:53.48, Sara Briggs (Gos) 24:04.84, Ashley Taylor (Ame) 24:09.35, Brittany Fischer (BT) 24:14.81, Brittany Fancher (WB) 24:16.32, Tonia Teran (Ame) 24:21.85, Holly Ortalano (Ame) 24:30.48, Rebecca Cass (Ame) 24:53.05, Lindsey Duncanson (WB) 25:28.38, Ainlsey Pruss (Ame) 25:31.49, and Raisa Finch (NR) 25:44.54.

Southern Buckeye Conference National Division Girls

Blanchester won the girls chase for the Southern Buckeye Conference National Division crown. The Wildcats had 103 points, Williamsburg 132, Georgetown 142, and Batavia 188. Felicity and East Clinton did not enter complete five-runner line-ups.

Finishing first was Kyle Watson of Georgetown in 20:02.63.

The best Clermont County times were achieved by Bekkah Jordan (Wms), 14th, 23:15.04, Catherine McPhillips (Wms), 23rd, 24:07.46, and Cierra Isner (Bat), 25th, 24:12.11. Ciara Nickol was the first Felicity harrier to complete the course; her time was 26:27.3.
SHARE: share on facebook share on digg share on linkedin share on stumbleupon email to a friend

Leave a Reply

  • public notices