Clermont County is host of Ohio Indoor Archery State Championship Tournament

April 1st, 2010    Author: Richard Crawford    Filed Under: Sports

The Ohio Archers Association Indoor 300 State Championship Tournament was hosted by Batavia High School and Clermont County, recently.

Almost 100 archers from throughout the state of Ohio competed in this two-day event that marked the conclusion of the Ohio Archers Association winter schedule that began the first weekend in January. A series of four outdoor tournaments will take place during the spring and summer.

Two Clermont countians were champion of their respective divisions.

Kenneth Gibson of Milford was champion of the Male Senior Division (55-64 years of age) and Evan Grippa of New Richmond was the winner of the Guest Cub Release Division (less than 12 years of age).

The officials and sponsors of the tournament were pleased with the entire weekend.

"It ran very smooth,"said Jeremy Evans of New Richmond, president of the Ohio Archers Association. "I am very happy with the cooperation and help we received from Batavia High School and Jim Barger and the Clermont County Convention and Visitors Bureau."

James Barger, assistant to the director of the Clermont County Convention and Visitors Bureau which sponsored the event, said, "This was a chance for the people of Clermont County to become familiar with the archery association and tournament. It was a successful event and the association plans to have the tournament here again next year."

Mark Gamby of Carey, Ohio, was the champion of the Male Bowhunter Release Division. He agreed with Barger when he said, "They did a really nice job here. I really enjoyed this tournament. I hope they have the tournament here next year."

Following are the competitors, in order of finish, beginning with the champion, in each division.

Male Bowhunter Release

Mark Gamby of Carey, Eric Nolan of Germantown, Garreth McNelly of Xenia, Jonathan Smith of

Racine, Matt Baringer of Bellefontaine, Pat Coe of Wooster, Mile McKenna of Martinsville, and Jake Bradley of Bellefontaine.

Open Guest Adult

David Broxterman of Mount Orab, Eric Grippa of New Richmond, Jeff McCoy of Mount Victory, Doug Walters of Huntsville, and Cecil Thomas of Muncie (Ind.).

Cub Release (less than 12 years of age)

Kendra Risner of Circleville, Katana McCoy of Mount Victory, and Conner Cyrus of Sterling.

Guest Cub Release

Evan Grippa of New Richmond and Kassie Cyrus of Sterling.

Female Youth Release (12-14 years of age)

Amber Risner of Circleville.

Male Youth Release (12-14 years of age)

Nathan Crace of Wheelersburg.

Guest Male Release (12-14 years of age)

Jared Bradley of Burgettstown (Pa.) and Cordel Walters of Huntsville.

Guest Male Young Adult Release (15-17)

Justin Bradley of Burgettsville (Pa.) and Adam Young of Uniontown.

Guest Female Young Adult Release (15-17 years of age)

Tiffany Hoffer of Peebles.

Male Senior (55-64 years of age)

Kenneth Gibson of Milford, Virg Cyrus of Sterling, Norm Newman of Fostoria, Jim Yahn of Columbus, John Lewis of Akron, and Ray Prater of Bellefontaine.

Male Master Senior (65 years of age and older)

James Stewart of Weirton, Douglas Shelige of Chardon, Darrell Risner of Minford, and Richard Wiggins of Yellow Springs.

Female Master Senior (65 years of age and older)

Betty Cyrus of Sterling and Mecky Gross of Akron.

Female Freestyle

Tina McNelly of Xenia.

Male Freestyle Class AA

Tony Holman of Fostoria, Jeremiah McDowell of Wilmington, Brian Thompson of Ravenna, Mike Stefanini of Solon, Dan Lane of Willoughby, Bill Haas of Goshen, Jeremy Evans of New Richmond, Skip Zmuginsky of Grafton, Mark Young II of Uniontown, Dean Hicks of Alger, Todd McNelly of Xenia, Jesse Engle of Mount Orab, and Art Kitchell of Columbus.

Male Freestyle Class B

Tim Vinup of Clarksville and Todd Viars of Wilmington.

Male Freestyle Limited

Dave Fletcher of Wooster.

Open Money Class

Wayne Risner of Circleville, Kenny Gibson of Milford, Jared Neal of Middletown, Jeff Morris of Blanchester, Robert Holden of Columbus, Baron Osterman of Cincinnati, and Kevin Barker of Seven Mile.

Male Freestyle Class A

Gary Smith of Canton, Joey Jarrell of Racine, James McCollum of Akron, Robert Notestine of Perrysburg, Bryan Traus of Clarksville, and Howard Moshier of West Chester.
SHARE: share on facebook share on digg share on linkedin share on stumbleupon email to a friend

Leave a Reply

  • public notices