New Richmond nips Blanchester in Southern Buckeye Conference Wrestling Tournament

February 18th, 2010    Author: Richard Crawford    Filed Under: Sports

New Richmond emerged from the Southern Buckeye Conference (SBC) Wrestling Tournament with a very hard-fought victory at Williamsburg High School.

The Lions (NR) recorded 165.5 points, Blanchester (B) 161, Western Brown (WB) 134, Batavia (Bat) 109, Goshen (Gos) 102, Bethel-Tate (BT) 84, Clermont Northeastern(CNE) 68, Williamsburg (Wms) 38, and East Clinton (EC) 13.

The tournament was nip-and-tuck throughout and it was not until the final match of the tourney that the team champion was decided.

In the 285-pound title bout, Bethel-Tate senior Paschal Lanigan was leading New Richmond freshman JR Forsee 7-4 with 46 seconds remaining in the match when extremely suddenly the Lion flipped the Tiger to the mat and recorded a pin before a very large, astonished crowd. Both had been standing locked up when the flip was made.

"I felt him falling down and I thought I had to squeeze him for my life because I knew my team was counting on me," said Forsee.

This was a tourney of a lot of sacrifices and heroic efforts.

Nick Simpson, Clermont Northeastern junior 112-pounder, had suffered a broken fibula just four weeks ago. The defending champion competed and actually managed to place third in his class.

"I decided two days ago I was going to wrestle. This is the league. I couldn't pass it up," he said. "I'm a little out of shape, but it felt awesome to be wrestling."

Deron Shinkle, head coach of the SBC champions, said, "This was the most exciting tournament I've been in in a long time. Our kids never lost faith in their abilities. I stressed to them how important the extra points were that they'd get from pins and technical falls."

Shinkle was co-coach of the year along with the Blanchester head coach. Goshen sophomore 152-pounder Chaz Gresham earned the wrestler of the year honor.

Following are the results of each weight class with the championship bout being listed first followed by the consolation final match.

103: Austin Skaggs (NR) over Josh McCloskey (Bat) 12-2. Dylan Smith (B) pinned Brandon Kahlenbeck (BT) 2-minutes, 22-seconds.

112: Kurtis Fox (WB) over Brody Hooks (NR) 14-2. Nick Simpson (CNE) over Brian Carter (BT) 18-4.

119: Joey Ward (Gos) over Chip Ratcliff (BT) 19-2. Cody Gabelman (NR) pinned Shane Jeffers (Wms) 1:47.

125: Tory Bauer (WB) pinned Sam Anderson (NR) 1:31. Corey Stith (Wms) pinned Erik Mercer (Bat) 2:28.

130: Dustin Davidson (BT) over Josh Cioca (B) 3-0. Taylor Lundsford WB) pinned Adam Meares (EC) 3:59.

135: Alex Panno (B) over Aaron Walker (Gos) 9-5. Ethan Humbert (Bat) over Jake Bieber (CNE) 6-5.

140: Dylan Reynolds (CNE) over Sam DiBello (WB) 10-4. Anthony Carome (Gos) over Jacob Dawson (B) 8-1.

145: Justin Dillinger (WB) over Tyler Osborne (Bat) 14-7. Jordan Dawson (B) over Clay Loadman (NR) 10-8, overtime.

152: Jake Howe (B) pinned Dylan Eastham (Bat) 1:13. Josh Royer (CNE) pinned Andrew Huffman (EC) 4:47.

160: Chaz Gresham (Gos) over Josh Runyon (B) 19-4. Kevin Reid (NR) over Robert Hartley (EC) 6-3.

171: Andrew Nealan (NR) pinned Tyler Curry (Bl) 3:19. Gabe Archer (Bat) over Lance Reeves (Wms) 17-2.

189: Brandon Shoemaker (B) over Jeff Elam (Bat) 12-10. Gunnar Patton (WB) pinned David Prewitt (Gos) 1:34.

215: Brian Gelter (NR) pinned Travis Boys (B) 1:10. Jake Bering (WB) pinned Mitch Giar (BT) 3:47.

285: JR Forsee (NR) pinned Paschal Lanigan (BT) 5:15. Austin Arnold (Gos) over Jordan Smith (Wms) 10-8.
SHARE: share on facebook share on digg share on linkedin share on stumbleupon email to a friend

Leave a Reply

  • public notices