Clermont Chamber recognizes area businesses with awards

February 18th, 2010    Author: Marsha Mundy    Filed Under: News

Each year the Clermont County Chamber of Commerce recognizes some of the areas finest businesses.

During its annual meeting at Receptions Friday, Feb. 12 the Chamber presented awards to five businesses.

Clermont Northeastern School District received the Innovative Business Practices Award as an employee with 51 – 250 employees.

Superintendent Neil Leist shared his success story with all those in attendance during a video presentation. The district has saved taxpayers an estimated $1 million with their ability to network with area businesses to acquire needed computers, school desks, cafeteria equipment, office furniture, and supplies for the district.

Administrators from Clermont Northeastern School District are shown with the Innovative Small Business Award they received from the Clermont County Chamber of Commerce on Friday, Feb. 12. They are from left middle school assistant principal Chris Smith, technology coordinator Andy Seals, superintendent Neil Leist, special education director/assistant superintendent Wayne Johnson, middle school principal Heather Powell, high school principal Matt Early, high school assistant principal Jason Tackett and treasurer Brian Switzer.
"When I was hired as superintendent the district was seriously considering an operating levy, but I was determined that we could find a way to keep the district solvent without asking the voters for money," said Leist. "Business partnerships we have formed as a result of Chamber events have really helped us in the CNE District."

The Innovative Business Practices Award for a company with 1 - 50 employees was given to G.J. Berding Surveying, Inc.

The company has been applying 3D scanning technology since 2001 to better serve their clients. A video presentation gave everyone in attendance a fresh perspective on the surveying profession and how the Milford based company is utilizing that technology.

"This award means much to myself and my company. We are honored to be recognized by the Chamber," said owner Berding.

The Customer Focus Award based on a small number of employees was presented to Bethel Building and Loan Company. The company was organized in 1889 and celebrated 120 years with a customer appreciation picnic last year.

"We pride ourselves in finding out what our customer needs are and finding solutions for their problems," said president John Essen.

Client relation officer Judi Adams stated that since they are a locally owned financial institution they handle everything in their office.

"We know our customers and have a good relationship with them," said Adams.

Holiday Inn and Suites Cincinnati Eastgate was presented the Customer Focus Award for employing a larger number of employees.

The company is a long-standing member of the Chamber and was recently voted the friendliest hotel in Cincinnati. The recently renovated hotel holds a 10,000 square foot ballroom, meeting space and state-of-art audiovisual services.

"We want to give our customers the best service possible," said general manager Jennifer Porter. "We are very proud of what we have to offer."

Telema and Berger Resistors, Inc. received the Emerging Small Business Award and owners Bob and Debra Berger were excited to be chosen.

The company, based in Miami Township, has been partnering with an Italian company since 2004 to provide resistors for transit cars.

"We employ 33 people and have had steady growth," said Bob Berger. "We are starting to add more products and will continue to grow."

Since the merger in 2004, the company is manufacturing resistors for a U.S. market but they also offer design resistors, neutral grounding resistors, harmonic filter resistors, load resistors and dynamic braking resistors.

Gertrud Whitaker expressed congratulations to the winners on behalf of Congresswoman Jean Schmidt.

"Jean wanted me to express her congratulations to all the winners here today," said Whitaker. "We thank you for your behind-the-scenes work and wish you continued success."

State representative Tom Niehaus addressed the winners.

"Thank you for the job you perform for our community," he said. "Everyone of you contribute to the resources in the State of Ohio."

"These are challenging times and what the Chamber is doing here in Clermont County is important," said representative Danny Bubp. "Recognizing these businesses, it is appropriate today to note that in these trying economic times you are shining through."

Commissioners Ed Humphrey and Bob Proud were also on hand to congratulate the award winners.

"Quality businesses are the lifeblood of Clermont County, Ohio and the United States and we congratulate you," said Humphrey.

"The Chamber realizes that we don't have to create jobs, we just have to create the right environment for jobs. On behalf of the board of county commissioners, congratulations to the Chamber and the award winners," said Proud.

The award winners were selected from nominations received early in the fall of 2009. A committee from the Chamber takes a look at the nominees and selects a winner.
SHARE: share on facebook share on digg share on linkedin share on stumbleupon email to a friend

Leave a Reply

  • public notices