Bethel-Tate, Batavia boys, New Richmond girls pace county in SBC cross country showdowns

October 30th, 2009    Author: Richard Crawford    Filed Under: Sports

Bethel-Tate paced Clermont County in the Southern Buckeye Conference boys and girls cross country championships that took place in Bethel.

The Tigers were a very close runner-up in the Southern Buckeye Conference American Division race.

The Red and Gray’s Lance Lambert, a senior, was the number-one finisher among the American Division male harriers. Leading the county among the National Division distancemen was Batavia’s Daniel Chandler.

On the distaff side of the competition, New Richmond’s Veronica Burnam, a senior, broke the tape first for Clermonters.

The members of the Southern Buckeye Conference girls all-star dream team includes, front row from left, Veronica Burnam of New Richmond, Andi Lanigan of Bethel-Tate, and Andrea Belmont and Emily Erdman of New Richmond, row two, Raisa Finch and Krista Warren of New Richmond, Morgan Calhoun of Bethel-Tate, and Ciara Nickol of Felicity.
Western Brown (WB) won the title with a total of 43 points, the Tigers (BT) tallied 45, New Richmond (NR) 54, and Goshen (Gos) 79. Clermont Northeastern (CNE) did not run a full five-man squad.

The Southern Buckeye Conference National Division team totals were Blanchester (Blan) 30, Batavia (Bat) 42, and Georgetown (Geo) 48. Felicity (Fel) did not field a full five-man unit and Williamsburg does not have a cross country program.

Both divisions of the girls of the Southern Buckeye Conference were combined into one race. Western Brown was the winner with 20 points, New Richmond had 36, Blanchester 93, and Batavia 98. The other schools either did not compete or did not have full five-person teams.

Following are the finishes of all divisions with each individual's time over the 3.1-mile course around Burke Park, and Bick Primary, and Hill Intermediate schools.

SBC American Boys

Lance Lambert (BT) 17-minutes, 55-seconds, Jon Walker (WB) 18:01, Timmy Hall (NR) 18:08, Nate McQueen (Gos) 18:39, Logan Sutherland (WB) 18:46, Louie Schaljo (BT) 18:48, Grant Torok (BT) 18:57, Alex Ariapod (NR) 19:00, Garth Whitaker (Gos) 19:20, Luke Gilday (NR) 19:27, Nathan Robinson (WB) 19:28, Brady Patrick (WB) 19:34, Lane Day (WB) 19:38, Mickie Doane (NR) 19:42, Sumner Hobart (BT) 20:07, Ashton Hutchinson (BT) 20:09, Aaron Walker (Gos) 20:16, Gage Teaney (CNE) 20:17, Chase Beck (BT) 20:30, and Dylan Reynolds (CNE) 20:51.

SBC National Boys

Bryson Lewis (Blan) 17:45, Daniel Chandler (Bat) 17:59, Cody Pack (Geo) 18:02, Nick McAfee (Geo) 18:02, Caleb McCullough (Blan) 18:05, Jake McClanahan (Blan) 18:36, Jason Braswell (Bat) 18:45, Jeff Cook (Blan) 19:00, Joshua Moon (Bat) 19:23, Cory Baker (Fel) 19:37, Jake Howe (Blan) 20:03, Cody Schott (Bat) 20:28, Branden Helterbrand (Geo) 20:43, Bryan Simmons (Bat) 20:48, Travis Smith (Fel) 20:55, and Dylan Henry (Geo) 21:12.

SBC Girls

Christine Moon (WB) 20:41, Shelby Gibbons (WB) 20:54, Veronica Burnam (NR) 21:33, Andi Lanigan (BT) 22:12, Brittany Fancher (WB) 22:21, Emily Siemer (WB) 22:37, Andrea Belmont (NR) 23:15, Emily Erdman (NR) 23:20, Heather Liming (WB) 23:34, Raisa Finch (NR) 23:42, Morgan Wright (WB) 23:47, Krista Warren (NR) 23:51, Morgan Calhoun (BT) 23:54, Ciara Nickol (Fel) 23:57, Sara Briggs (Gos) 24:10, Sidney Dubois (East Clinton) 24:16, Brittany Fischer (BT) 24:33, Amanda Jelley (Geo) 25:00, Jessica Fischer (BT) 25:12, and Mikelle Moon (WB) 25:27.

The first eight placers in each race made the SBC first team all-stars and the next eight comprised the second team all-stars.
SHARE: share on facebook share on digg share on linkedin share on stumbleupon email to a friend

Leave a Reply

  • public notices