Southern Buckeye-American chooses winter all-stars

April 4th, 2009    Author: Richard Crawford    Filed Under: Sports

The Southern Buckeye Conference American Division coaches have chosen their respective all-stars teams for the winter 2008-09 season.

Following are Clermont County’s representatives.


Both divisions are combined into one tournament.

First team (individual weight class champions)

112-pounds: Joey Ward (Goshen freshman), 135: Chaz Gresham (Goshen freshman), 140: Aaron Walker (Goshen sophomore), 160: Andrew Nealan (New Richmond junior), 171: Bryan Martineck (New Richmond senior), 189: Josh McGowan (Clermont Northeastern junior), and 215: Jeff Elam (Batavia junior).

Second team (individual weight class runners-up)

103: Nick Simpson (Clermont Northeastern sophomore), 125: Zach Hargis (Batavia sophomore), 130: Dylan Reynolds (Clermont Northeastern junior), 135: Drew Napier (Bethel-Tate senior), 140: Josh Royer (Clermont Northeastern junior), 152: Graham Rose (Bethel-Tate senior), 215: Brian Gelter (New Richmond junior), and 285: Jacob Clift (Goshen senior).

Conference tournament final score

Blanchester 168, New Richmond 138, Goshen 117.5, Bethel-Tate 115, Western Brown 104, Batavia 76, Clermont Northeastern 76, and Williamsburg 3.

Boys Basketball

First team

Justin Messinger (Clermont Northeastern senior forward), Jake Terry (Clermont Northeastern senior guard), Louie Schaljo (Bethel-Tate junior guard-forward), Cody McClanahan (Goshen senior guard), Nick Wake (Goshen sophomore guard), and Justin Wilson (New Richmond senior guard).

Second team

Joe Drusell (Clermont Northeastern senior guard), Brad Mummert (Clermont Northeastern senior center), Tyler Bullock (Bethel-Tate sophomore guard), and Jordan Poff (Goshen senior center).

Final conference standings

Western Brown 13-1, Clermont Northeastern 11-3, Bethel-Tate 9-5, Goshen 9-5, and New Richmond 3-11.

Girls Basketball

First team

Brooke Catauro (Goshen junior guard), Melanie Constable (Goshen senior guard-forward), Christie Connor (Clermont Northeastern senior forward), and Chelsea Allen (Bethel-Tate senior guard-forward).

Second team

Jordan Buchanan (Goshen senior guard), Lindsey Huxel (Clermont Northeastern senior forward), Emily Vanderpool (Bethel-Tate junior guard), Ali Wallace (Bethel-Tate senior guard), and Michelle Sweet (New Richmond senior guard).

Final conference standings

Western Brown 13-1, Goshen 9-5, Clermont Northeastern 5-9, Bethel-Tate 3-11, and New Richmond 3-11.


First team

Matt Kelley (New Richmond senior), Matt Lancaster (New Richmond senior), Caleb Theiss (New Richmond senior), Maria Bee (Bethel-Tate junior), Ryan Downey (Bethel-Tate senior), Tyler Nants (Goshen junior), and Hannah Rogers (Goshen senior).

Second team

Ethan Johnson (New Richmond senior), Holton Parks (Bethel-Tate sophomore), Alexis Wagner (Bethel-Tate senior), Alyx Cox (Goshen senior), and Ivan Glasgo (Clermont Northeastern senior).

Player of the year

Matt Lancaster of New Richmond

Coach of the year

Sue Griffin of New Richmond

Final conference standings

New Richmond 10-0, Bethel-Tate 7-3, Goshen 6-4, Western Brown 3-7, and Clermont Northeastern 2-8.
SHARE: share on facebook share on digg share on linkedin share on stumbleupon email to a friend

Leave a Reply

  • public notices