Garrett, Kennedy, Braswell set pace for harriers in Southern Buckeye cross country showdown

October 19th, 2007    Author: Richard Crawford    Filed Under: Sports

About the best that can be said for Clermont countians’ efforts in the Southern Buckeye Conference cross country championship races is that the county did turn in some respectable individual performances.

Southern Buckeye Conference American Division

Western Brown was the team champion with 18 points and New Richmond had 56. Bethel-Tate, Clermont Northeastern, and Goshen did not compete with complete five-man rosters.

The Broncos’ J. T. Olsen was the individual champion over the Western 3.1-mile course. He completed the route in 17-minutes, 41-seconds. The best finish by a Clermont countian was Goshen’s Darren Garrett who came in fourth with a 18:28 clocking. Bethel-Tate’s Louie Schaljo was right behind him coming in fifth in 18:32.

The first 16 placers were, in order, J. T. Olson of Western Brown, J. T. Belcher of Western Brown 17:42, Darryl Patrick of Western Brown 18:12, Darren Garrett of Goshen, Louie Schaljo of Bethel-Tate, Mario Leonard of Western Brown 18:44, Timmy Hall of New Richmond 18:57, Kirk Schneider of Western Brown 19:04, John Walker of Western Brown 19:18, Nathan Robinson of Western Brown19:19, Nathan Humfleet of New Richmond 19:28, Nick Gabbard of New Richmond 19:31, Anthony Goodrich of New Richmond 19:35, Garth Whitacre of Goshen 19:40, Jacob Buchanan of Goshen 19:42, and Lance Lambert of Bethel-Tate 20:04.

Tim Christie was the best finisher for Clermont Northeastern.

Southern Buckeye Conference National Division

Georgetown was the victor in the small school division. The G-Men accumulated 22 points, Batavia 53, Blanchester 66, and East Clinton 72. Felicity did not enter a full five-man squad and Williamsburg did not compete.

Georgetown's Calvin Cahall was the individual champion in a time of 17:27 on the course in Mount Orab. The best finish for a Clermont countain was fourth, gained by Batavia's Nathan Braswell who completed the race in 18:37.

The best 16 finishers were, in order, Calvin Cahall of Georgetown, Robert Manning of Georgetown 18:20, Neil Martin of Georgetown 18:37, Nathan Braswell of Batavia, Kirby Keltner of East Clinton 18:40, Thomas Cowan of Batavia 18:52, Shawn Damen of Georgetown 19:07, Dustin Bishop of Blanchester 19:27, Cody Pack of Georgetown 19:32, Caleb McCullough of Blanchester 19:37, Ryan Caldwell of East Clinton 19:51, Adam Pittman of Blanchester 19:57, Daniel Chandler of Batavia 20:00, Tyler Hensley of Batavia 20:37, Josh Dunn of East Clinton 20:43, and Ethan Humbert of Batavia 20:43.

Thomas Sinclair was the first finisher for Felicity.

Southern Buckeye Conference girls

The 11-member SBC combined all of its female runners into one race.

Western Brown was the champion with 19 points, New Richmond had 57, and Goshen 59. The other schools did not field complete five-member contingents or did not take part in the event at all.

Shelby Gibbons of Western Brown was the individual to break the tape first. Her time was 20:39.

Clermont County had two runners come in among the best five. Alana Kennedy of New Richmond was fourth in a time of 20:55 and Tarah Cole of Bethel-Tate was fifth in 21:23.

The first 16 to complete the course were, in order, Shelby Gibbons of Western Brown, Samantha Rhodes of Western Brown 20:52, Alana Kennedy of New Richmond, Tarah Cole of Bethel-Tate, Christine Moon of Western Brown 21:43, Allie Abt of Blanchester 22:11, Brianna Cecil of Western Brown 22:21, Kelsey Gaffney of Goshen 22:23, Amanda Jelly of Georgetown 22:24, Sarah Craycraft of Western Brown 22:25, Veronica Burnam of New Richmond 22:34, Megan Sutherland of Western Brown 22:46, Morgan Orr of Western Brown 22:52, Colleen Foote of Goshen 23:13, Rebekah Winterberger of Goshen 23:19, and Heather Catron of Western Brown 23:19.

Alyssa Loch was the first finisher for Northeastern.
SHARE: share on facebook share on digg share on linkedin share on stumbleupon email to a friend

Leave a Reply

  • public notices