Rockets, SBC-A volleyball co-champions, are led by coach Cindy Dorsey

December 1st, 2006    Author: Richard Crawford    Filed Under: Sports

Cindy Dorsey, Clermont Northeastern head varsity volleyball coach, was honored recently by her friends, family, team, and co-workers.

She was presented with awards and remembrances in recognition of the 100th victory of her varsity coaching career at CNE. The actual presentation was made on the evening of her 131st win that took place last month in Owensville in a victory over New Richmond.

A former Rocket volleyball standout herself, she began her varsity coaching career at her alma mater in the autumn of the 1997-98 school year.

“My first win was against Bethel in 1997,” she recalled. The first season was frustrating with the Blue and Gold going 6-15, but from that year on the Rockets have displayed some very good teams. Her final season records through her career to the present campaign are 13-10 (1998), 13-8 (1999), 18-5 (2000), 6-16 (2001), 11-12 (2002), 7-9 (2003), 20-3 (2004), and 20-1 (2005).

Family, friends, and teammates honored Clermont Northeastern head varsity volleyball coach Cindy Dorsey for going over the century mark with career victories. Her Rockets were co-champions of the American Division of the Southern Buckeye race. The members of her team were Lyndsey Waldman, Erin Connor, Katie Peace, Emma Keough, Kristen Miller, Kara Johnson, Megan Goldfuss, Dawn Rapp, and Kelly Dorsey.
For the season that just concluded the Rockets were co-champions of the SBC American Division with Western Brown. They earned identical 13-1 records.

"I was very touched," said Dorsey of the night she was honored. "It was a complete shock, but I thought something unusual was going on. I saw my whole family was there. I was pretty sure something was up."

During her stellar 10-year career as the head of the Blue and Gold's volleyball program, Dorsey has mentored five Southern Buckeye Conference (SBC) championship teams. Her success has earned her recognition by her peers by being selected four times (1999-2000-2004-2005) as the SBC American Division coach of the year.
SHARE: share on facebook share on digg share on linkedin share on stumbleupon email to a friend

Leave a Reply

  • public notices